top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureQingsong Xiao

I Have No Words!

Updated: Apr 14, 2019

Sehnsucht


Verschlimmbessern

The German word "Verschlimmbessern" means "To make something worse in the very act of trying to improve it." This terms intrigues me because there are many occasions where people try to overcompensate after making a mistake. When I was taking calligraphy lessons years before, my teacher always told me, "a Chinese character is like a dog (or any other animals for that matter), and it becomes uglier if you try to add strokes to make it look perfect." At first I was not convinced, however, I did try not to make mistakes while writing. Occasionally, because of lack of attention, I did miswrite characters, and to "cover it up," I tried to add additional strokes to complement whatever is lacking; when my finished work is hung on a wall for scrutiny, those additional strokes became visible as lumps of black ink. I might incorporate "Verschlimmbessern" into your everyday vocabulary from now on when seeing someone trying to compensate for whatever mistakes they have made but only to make them worse.





2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Weekend Olfactory Diary

Dust -  Bedroom, Saturday Morning When I was vacuuming my room, the dust on the carpet was disturbed and filled the room. It smelt dry and somewhat pungent. It reminds me of a factory/warehouse. It ca

© 2023 by The Book Lover. Proudly created with Wix.com

Join my mailing list

bottom of page