top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureQingsong Xiao

Peer Prompt from Jesus

Updated: Apr 12, 2019

What is the meaning of life?


Life is short, I have to admit. In my egotistical opinion, and thus I must apologize for my prejudices, the meaning of life is to maximize the value of your transient existence. However,  it would be a better question to ask, “why must there be a meaning attached to one’s life?”


Your perception of the meaning of your life shall not depend on how others live theirs. Speaking of which, those who deem their lives meaningless chose to commit suicide. With increased age comes increased pressure. There have been incidences where students at prestigious universities commit suicide under stressful environment. Think about it, if you are surrounded by people who earned their PhDs by their 20s, classmates who placed top ranks in international competitions while in high school, and kids from prominent families, how would you value yourself knowing that you will never be able to achieve their qualifications? Under enormous pressure, it is of paramount importance to have a meaning in life.


A man who has a “why” to live can stand almost any “how.”

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Weekend Olfactory Diary

Dust -  Bedroom, Saturday Morning When I was vacuuming my room, the dust on the carpet was disturbed and filled the room. It smelt dry and somewhat pungent. It reminds me of a factory/warehouse. It ca

© 2023 by The Book Lover. Proudly created with Wix.com

Join my mailing list

bottom of page